EliseAndEmerald

The Crafting Adventures of Elise and her alter ego – Emerald

Naught to Nautical Quilt

Leave a comment

12790142_10208703594005400_211661247_o (1)

Hello my lovely readers!

My favorite big brother is a submarine Sonar Technician in the United States Navy.  We are all very proud of him and his service to our country.  As he has been in the Navy for almost 15 years, he has been given a whole bunch of Navy/nautical themed items.  As I prepared to make a quilt for him, I wanted to be sure it paid homage to his long-standing military service while also being not too nautical.

My mother had gifted me a box of fabrics from Connecting Threads that was full of fat quarters in fun colors. One half of the box was solids with white polka dots and the other half was solids with white stars.  When I came across the Suburban quilt pattern in the Quilty Magazine in the Sept/Oct 2013 issue, I knew it would look FABULOUS with some of the star fabrics.

It is a very simple pattern, but it has a lot of visual interest. Couple that with a repeating pattern in multiple colors and it is a beautiful match!  For the rest of the quilt I added some navy solids and military green solids to break up the pattern.  I searched through Moda’s Because of the Brave fabric line to find one in blue that featured dog tags.  I used it for the binding and it went perfectly with my quilt top.  In addition, it is butter soft and so nice to sew with!  Moda makes some great quality fabrics! For the back I used a navy minky fabric.  Even though my brother lives in Hawaii, I couldn’t resist using minky on the back – it is just too soft!   I told him he could use it on the cold submarine or pack it when he comes to visit us in the freezing tundra of Northern Iowa!

Before I shipped him the quilt for his birthday,  I had a little photo shoot!  Enjoy!

Thanks for visiting!

~Elise and Emerald

Want to see more?
“Like” us on Facebook – Elise and Emerald
“Follow” us on Instagram – @eliseandemerald
“Follow” us on Pinterest – eliseandemerald
Shop our Etsy Store – Elise and Emerald

 

Leave a Reply

